Ramblings for 2013.07.14

Sourdough spelt loaf

Sourdough spelt loaf (Photo credit: GabeD)

I had a really nice conversation with my father via Skype.

We spoke at length about making our own bread using a bread machine, using non-wheat flour, sourdough starter using seed starters from Sourdoughs International, and a variety of other tangential subjects.

We also discussed pizza crust and how to use your grill to do some baking, such as portrayed on Breadtopia. This website is an amazing resource, and I need to order a few things from them so I can grill pizza and bread – I need a good peel for the pizza, and a cloche and proofing basked for the bread.

Dad said that he had wanted to get me a bread machine for some time, and asked me what brand and model I would like, so I looked up the bread machine that Steven Harris uses and mentioned on several of The Survival Podcast episodes he has been on. My dad promptly ordered it. Wow! I love my parents.

We also discussed capturing rain water and storing it, using collapsible rain barrels I ordered from Amazon, here and here.

So we had a good time discussing the above and I am very grateful to have such caring parents, as I see so many families struggle with their internal relations and many families get torn apart in the process.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.