Ramblings for 2013.07.20

English: Baked loaf from Bread Machine

English: Baked loaf from Bread Machine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well, today I got the bread machine that my dad ordered for me. I am really excited to be making my first loaf of bread. I already have a few of the ingredients, but I am lacking instant yeast, organic sugar, and dry milk to try the basic recipes, so I will have to get those on one of our next shopping trips.

In the mean time, I cleaned the machine’s bread bowl with dish soap and warm water, and it is drying right now, and I am studying the manual to make myself familiar with the machine. There doesnt seem to be that much to it, really. There is even a sourdough recipe, but it still calls for active dry yeast… I will have to try that, and slowly reduce the amount of active dry yeast over time… I bet I can let the dough rise over night on starter alone and then let it run like a normal basic loaf… something to try later once I’m comfortable with the bread maker.

2 Responses to “Ramblings for 2013.07.20”

  1. [1936] “Boston Brown Bread. Combine: 1 cup yellow corn meal 1 cup rye flour 1 cup graham flour 3/4 tablespoon soda 1 teaspoon salt Combine in a separate bowl: 2 cups sour milk 3/4 cup molasses 1 cup chopped raisins Add the liquid to the dry ingredients. Pour the batter into a buttered mold. Fill it 2/3 full. Steam it for 3 1/2 hours…This batter may be steamed in smaller molds or baking powder cans for 1 1/2 to 2 hours.” —Joy of Cooking, Irma S. Rombauer [Bobbs-Merrill:Indianapolis IN] 1936 (p. 324) Boston brown bread is traditionally served with baked beans . Related foods? Christmas pudding & Thirded Bread.

    Like

    • thank you for the recipe… sorry for taking so long to reply, I have had a turbulent few months and finally had some time to review the blog

      Like

Leave a Reply

