Technology – UBDC v5.32

Today at work I am having to clone a partially defective Windows 7 hard drive to another in the hopes of getting the system back up and running.

So, in the past I have used Ultimate Bood CD for Windows but it has not been updated for Windows 7 or Windows 8, so I decided to give the OSS version of UBCD a shot.

I just downloaded the CD ISO file, burnt it to CD, and it appears to be working and able to access windows partitions and clone drives.

I will return after I have used the disk for a bit and update as to what I think about this latest edition.

UPDATE 2015.01.03

This version of UBCD worked great, I was able to clone the drive just fine, but in the end the damaged drive was in far worse shape than I thought, so the integrity of the damaged partition was such that the clone was unreadable.

Needless to say, I am impressed with this version, and linked to the website in my side column.

I will make followup posts as I gain more experience with this version, and I think I will once again keep up with this invaluable tool.

Leave a Reply

