Ramblings for 2014.12.27

Well, I have not posted a ramble for over a year, now, actually one year, one month, and three days to be exact!

Dec14 Snow

Snow on Dec 27, 2014

Anyway, I took a nice panorama shot of our back yard this morning. The weather forecasters had predicted around 1/2 inch (~12mm) of snow on lawns, but we ended up with around 3 inches (~7.6cm) of the white stuff instead, so I decided to capture it this morning, and it was just natural for me to change the blog banner since I seem to have a little time on my hands.

I have a pot of mulligan soup simmering, and I am getting ready to watch “The Net 2.0” on Crackle via my Roku 2.

Anyway, I need to start rambling a little more than I have been.

On to other things, I decided to review my blog posts, and one year ago I talked about the environment and drought in the south western part of the United States. Today, one year later, this drought persists, and in some ways is worse. One of the key stories is that California is running out of water, and some farmers have been cut off from water supplies to maintain their farm land via irrigation.

Could this spell the end of California’s reign on the nations vegetable supplier?

Whatever the future holds for us, we should try to grow more of our own food in our own yards, as well as seek our local farmers, ranchers, and suppliers, to reduce our dependence on a few isolated producers. This will also reduce our greenhouse emissions and create local jobs.

Well, I’m getting tired and it is getting to be time for bed, so I will get this posted.

Leave a Reply

