Financial – Micro-tipping with ChangeTip

In my previous post about tipping with bitcoin on Twitter, I talked about using TipperCoin, but this only worked on Twitter. So here comes a different outfit, ChangeTip – A Love Button for the Internet.

Have you ever read something on Facebook, Google+, Twitter, or any other social media site and wanted to send the author a small amount of funds to tell them you appreciate the information?

Well, sending very small tips, also called micro-payments or micro-tipping, isn’t really feasible with say PayPal, or most other conventional payment systems, because of all the transaction fees.

Well, all this changed when Bitcoin was created back in 2007/2008 (see history), and today we are are able to make financial transaction in microscopic small amounts. As a matter of fact, as of this posting, it would take 122,174 satoshi to make one (1) US dollar, or 1221.74 satoshi to make a US Penny, according to Satoshi Value.

This means that I can now tip or pay for just the piece of content that is important to me. For example, if I look at a DiY page and all I really needed is a picture of where a part goes on a gadget, I may tip the article or post writer a dollar, but if just needed one paragraph of text to clarify something, or I find a page visually pleasing, I may tip 1000 satoshi, or just under a penny. Hover, if I find something really valuable, say a gardening article, and I decide to print a hard copy of it for future reference, I may tip US$5 because I find it that valuable and I am keeping it for future reference, so it is worth that much. Or maybe 1/4 of the article is worth keeping it, so I will tip US$1.25.

So first there was TipperCoin, a novel way to send small amount of bitcoin to Twitter users. But since this is specific to Twitter users I never really got into it because I just don’t Twitter that much, much less read a lot of Tweets. This all changes with ChangeTip. It is cross-platform, currently supporting GitHub, Google+, Reddit, StoclTwits, Tumblr, Twitter and YouTube. They are working on Facebook.

When you sign up, they generously give US$0.50 to start your tipping account. I used my Google+ to do the signing up, and it automatically linked my YouTube channel. I then added all the other social media sites I have an account with.

Now I am ready to both tip and receive tips.

So, here we go, a way to tell authors how much you appreciate their work beyond giving them a “Like”, “Plus” or retweet.

If you found this article useful, you can go here to give me a tip and sign up if you are not a ChangeTip member.

Tip Me With ChangeTip

Leave a Reply

