Bread baking – loaf 010

Wow, it’s been around 6 months since I made my last loaf of bread!

Being unemployed, I figured I should get back into baking bread, especially since I have some flour left. Since I don’t have any sourdough starter, I opened my bread machine manual, and decided to go with the deafult Country White bread recipe, I did slightly modify the recipe:

  • ¾ cup warm water
  • 1 tbsp. Greek yogurt
  • ¼ cup heavy whipping cream
  • ¾ cup warm filtered water
  • 1½ tbsp. butter
  • 1 tbsp. honey
  • ½ tbsp. organic cane sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • ¼ tsp. Himalayan salt
  • 3 cups Bob’s Red Mill unbleached White Flour (superb for bread baking by hand or machine)
  • 3 tbsp. Bob’s Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Flour
  • 1 tbsp. Hodgson Mill Stone Ground whole wheat flour
  • 1½ tsp. bread machine yeast

This time I added all the wet ingredients including the eggs and butter in the bottom of the mixing bowl, then added the flours on top, made the hole for yeast and added that, put the sugar on top of the yeast, sprinkled the salt over the flour dome, selected the basic bread mode and medium, and let her rip.

The dough turned out to be nice and thick, and the machine knead it well. During the rising process, it rose to form a nice dome without flowing over the edge of the baking pan.

It held the dome shape through the first few minutes of the baking, and then dropped a little, but not as much as in the past. Once the baking was done, instead of a dome it was almost flat, but it didn’t collapse deep into the center of the loaf.

I wrapped it in bakers towels as per my fathers instructions, and it is resting now. I can’t wait to cut into it and see what it tastes like.

Leave a Reply

