Ramblings for 2013.11.10

Oh my, I’ve been absent from this blog for quite some time!

I have been very tired, A LOT, lately, due to many stresses in my life. Then, recently, for reasons I will leave unmentioned due to confidentiality reasons, I was put into administrative hold on my job, and am currently waiting on a decision from upper management.

Having a few days to reflect on my life and my career, I am beginning to wonder if this is the right path for me, or if I need to consider moving on?

Coincidentally I came across Mike Elgan’s post on aNewDomain.net about being a nomadic blogger, journalist, and writer for major publications. Mind you, the above post was written a few days ago, but when looking into his writing I also found this post at Computerworld.com, where he talks briefly how he and his wife decided to give up the average American lifestyle of large house, cars, cable TV, etc. and became a semi-nomadic writer making a good income and living well abroad.

Next I read this article/post published about a month after the above mentioned article, also at Computerworld.com, mentioning the top 10 nomad bloggers.This particular post on thinktraffic.net introduces you to the top 10 nomads and what they have to say about their lifestyle.

Mind you, these two articles were written in 2009! This is 4 years later, when I discover these posts, but they are as relevant today as they were back in 2009; this information is ageless in general, only the means of making a living may have changed a little. This is what I am looking into right now, can I still make a living blogging, journaling, writing in 2013 and beyond?

We shall see if this is still a viable way to make an income. I’ve been reading a bit about web hosting, WordPress hosting, and such, and I think for the near term future I will stick with the free solution right here on WordPress.com until I know for sure I can stick with it and post on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

