Bread baking – loaf 009

Loaf eight turned out excellent. It didn’t rise as well, so it never overflowed the pan, didn’t even reach the top of the pan, but oh boy, it sure tastes good. I think I may have found the right combination of flours as far as taste is concerned. So, since we went through this bread almost entirely since Friday, I decided to make another loaf.

1549 hours:

I ended up forgetting to feed my starter as much as I should have, so I only ended up with 1/2 cup started discard, but that is alright.

So here is my recipe for this loaf:

  • ½ cup sourdough starter discard
  • ¼ cup warm milk
  • ¾ cup warm filtered water
  • 1 tbsp. butter
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. honey
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 1½ tsp. Himalayan salt
  • 1¾ cups Bob’s Red Mill unbleached White Flour (superb for bread baking by hand or machine)
  • ½ cup Bob’s Red Mill Whole Grain Oat Flour
  • ¼ cup Bob’s Red Mill Spelt flour
  • ¼ cup Hodgson Mill Organic all-purpose flour
  • ¼ cup Hodgson Mill Stone Ground whole wheat flour
  • ¼ cup instant oats
  • 1 tbsp. organic sugar
  • 2 tsp. bread machine yeast

This time I added all the wet ingredients including the eggs and butter in the bottom of the mixing bowl, then added the bread flour, Spelt, whole wheat, oat and all-purpose flours on top, made the hole for yeast and added that, put the sugar on top of the yeast, sprinkled the salt over the flour dome, selected the basic bread mode, and let her rip.

The dough turned out to be a little runny again, so I decided to add another ¼ cup of oat flour, and that thickened it up a bit better, so I’m letting the machine do it’s job for the next half hour or so. As before, I will come back later and update this post.

1845 hours:

Well, this loaf turned out awesome, looks wise anyway (link takes you to my Flickr page)!

I wrapped it in a couple of kitchen towels as my dad told me to do to let it settle and set, which gives the crust a chance to set and seal in the flavors. I will take another photo when I cut it open in a few hours.

Leave a Reply

