Bread baking – second loaf

English: Baked with love using a personal brea...

English: Baked with love using a personal bread making machine. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

OK, so after my first attempt of making bread in the bread maker, I decided to modify the recipe a little based on some tips from my dad. Here is the recipe:

  • ½ cup warm milk
  • ½ cup warm filtered water
  • 1.5 tbsp. butter
  • ½ tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1.5 tsp. Himalayan salt
  • 3.5 cups flour (I can’t find my scale, yet)
  • 1 tbsp. organic sugar
  • ¾ tbsp. honey
  • 2 tbsp. bread machine yeast

Per machine instructions in the manual, I added all the wet ingredients, but this time I mixed the sugar and honey into the milk/water mixture, and mixed the room temp egg and butter into that once the sugar was dissolved, then added the flour on top, made the hole for yeast and added that, put a pinch of sugar on top of the yeast and lightly mixed the yeast and a little surrounding flour, selected the French bread mode, and let her rip.

All went well, and it rose awesome the first rising, then I ran my errands, and when I got back it was in baking mode, and the top was collapsed… I wonder if it’s my flour, maybe?

It’s Gold label organic all-purpose flour, so I wonder if that is causing the bread to not hold it’s shape?

Anyway, not sure what the problem is, yet, but I’ll figure it out.

3 Responses to “Bread baking – second loaf”

  1. I used to get beautifully rounded loaves with my bread machine. I usually use bread flour instead of all purpose. But shortly before moving out west to the higher altitudes my 2 pound recipes started to collapse as well. Now they do it most of the time, and I’m still tweaking…grrr.

    Like

    • thank you for sharing this… yes, even at loaf 9 on the blog and loaf 12 in real life, I still have a lot of collapsing bread… most of the time it is due to the dough getting ready run over the pan edge and onto the coils, so I have to break the top dough membrane that keep the CO2 in by pulling the dough from the edge to the center, otherwise I fill the kitchen with smoke… I have reduced my recipes by 1/2 cup and 1 cup and still I have that problem on occasion. still working out the solution to this

      Like

  2. […] loaves of collapsed bread made in the Oster bread maker my dad got me, I decided to re-read my recipe, re-read the basic country white bread recipe in the bread machine manual, take my dad’s […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

