Ramblings for 2012.12.31

Kidney stone

Kidney stone (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Well,

I am writing this up after the fact, on Thursday, 2013.01.17, since I was not able to do so at the time.

I got the stomach flu sometime in the middle of December, I thing around the 14th, ended up in the ER because I passed out and hit the floor from a sitting position in a chair.

Then, about 4-6 days later, I ended up back in the ER with severe pain around my right kidney, and as I feared, I had a 5mm kidney stone. The doctors said it was brought on by the dehydration the stomach flu caused because of all the diarrhea, so I went into this Monday, 2012.12.31 to have the kidney stone removed using a catheter probe.

It went well, but they had to install a stent to keep the urinary tract open for any residual stones and shards coming out. They also gave me meds for pain and antibiotics for the infection.

Needless to say, I was not happy or in good shape these last few weeks.

I will be retroactively posting more to the blog over the next few days.

Leave a Reply

