Is sugar toxic?

Image representing New York Times as depicted ...

Image via CrunchBase

Well, this sux, I posted the article I just spent one hour writing, and it’s all gone… reason unknown. So, I will try to recreate what I typed but it will not be the same as what I had written before.

Even though I have not had much time to devote to blogging or such, I was able to spend some quiet time in the mornings reading a little on the (slow AT&T air card driven) internet. One such article is by Gary Taubes, titled Is sugar toxic? and published in 2011 on the NY Times web site.

Even though there hasn’t been much time to devote to the blog, I felt I needed to mention the article so you, my readers can read the article, as well, and let the information sink in.

Over the next few weeks I plan to making a series of posts addressing some of the subjects mentioned in the article, and if you have any interest in reading more on a certain subject, leave comments on this post or any subsequent ones, and if they relate to my own needs, I will further research them and publish my findings in additional posts.

What has prompted me to post this is that I am overweight, I have the typical male “beer gut” (also known these days as the “wheat gut”), but after reading Gary’s article in the NY Times, I’m think we should call it “fructose gut!”

I want to say that anything I mention here on my blog about my health, and what I am doing to repair my body and restore my health is only for me. It is not medical advice, and if you decide to try anything I do, please connsult your health practitioner first.

I am by no means a health professional, but I can read, and my comprehension level of these subjects is quite good, since I grew up eating healthy, semi-organic back in Germany during my childhood, and have only descended to my current health state after moving to North America, and especially these last 10 years or so.

So, talk to your doctor or nutritionist, but do your own research, don’t trust anyone, everyone has their own slant on health, and only you really know how you feel, even your health practitioner can only guess what you feel. It’s your body, take care of it and it will take care of you.

Leave a Reply

